How Long Do Points Stay on Your License in Florida?


Florida has the harshest DUI penalties in the United States. Its drunk driving rate is higher than average. In the event that a court convicts you of DUI, you may be faced with Florida’s DUI legislation. These laws are designed to help reduce Florida drunk driving statistics.

Many drivers have misconceptions about what constitutes a DUI in Florida and the penalties that can result from it. Ticket Shield law firm shares some vital information regarding Florida DUI Criminal cases.

What is DUI in Florida?

DUI charges in Florida are based on two factors. First, someone must be physically controlling a vehicle. Second, the driver’s normal faculties must be impaired due to drugs, alcohol, a mixture, or any combination thereof.

Most often, a person’s breath is tested to determine the alcohol content. Florida assumes that alcohol impairment is present when a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds 08%. The state of Florida can still prove impairment even if the driver refuses to submit a urine, blood, or breath test. Florida law is not affected by whether or not a driver feels “okay” to be driving.

What Are the Penalties of a DUI?

Florida law stipulates minimum penalties for DUI convictions. These include:

     Community service

     Court costs and fines


     License suspension

     DUI school

     Vehicle immobilization

     Time in jail

The right lawyer can help you explore your options for legal defense.

Keep in mind that depending on whether this is a first offense, DUI charges may have different consequences.

First Offense

Penalties are not as severe for first-time DUI offenders as they are for subsequent offenses. The judge could sentence you to a maximum of six months jail time, and you may be fined up to $1000 for a DUI first offense.

A blood alcohol concentration above 15% can lead to increased penalties. Driving while intoxicated with a small child is another factor that could increase the penalty. In each case, a sentence enhancement of up to 9 months of prison time or fines of up to $2,000 could result.

If you are convicted of a first time offense, your license will be suspended and your vehicle immobilized for 10 days. A judge may also require a substance abuse evaluation or order treatment, depending upon the specifics of your situation.

Second Offense

In criminal cases, a second DUI may result in jail time of up to 9 months, fines of up to $2,000, and a possible mandatory sentence.

The second DUI conviction within five years will result in at least a 10-day jail term. The ignition interlock system is another element of sentencing that’s mandatory for people with multiple DUIs. You will have to take a test for breathalyzers every time you try to drive a car with this equipment.

A 30-day immobilization of your car by the police and mandatory alcohol treatment are also included.

Further Offense

DUI criminal laws allow for up to a year of jail time for a second offense and a maximum fine of $5,000. Further offenses can result in Felony DUI, which can lead to a maximum prison sentence of five years.

Ticket Shield recognizes that unexpected challenges can arise in life. To assist you in overcoming legal obstacles, especially when they are most crucial, Ticket Shield is at your service. Their seasoned attorneys focus on various traffic-related legal issues, providing you with the strongest defense available. Available teams include:

     Traffic Ticket Lawyer

     DUI Lawyer

     Speeding Ticket Lawyer

     Reckless Driving Lawyer

     Suspended License Lawyer

     Red Light Ticket Lawyer

     Stop Sign Ticket Lawyer

     Seat Belt Ticket Lawyer

Contact our Red Light Ticket Lawyer in Broward County today for a free consultation!

Leave A Reply